Roar my Protest


I’ve been okay living with the label THUG. I have found it amusing that a middle-aged white woman could be called that because of the breed of dog she owns.  Well no more.

You see, I believe that the NFL has given THUG a whole new level of meaning.  Yes, one of America’s beloved past times has sunk to the level of thuggery.  Over the last several years focus has been taken off the field and been put on the player’s behavior.  There have been documented cases of domestic abuse, carousing, drunk-driving, oh,  and the crown jewel, Michael Vick.

Yesterday, the Philadelphia Eagles signed Mr. Vick on a 1 year contract to play football.  This is a team that publicly said they would not sign him because of his involvement in dog fighting.

The NFL has cemented it reputation to be filled with THUGS, abusers and dangerous people.  Roger Goodell claims that these men are role models.  For who, I ask.  The next generation of incarcerents in our penal system?  Our young people need role models like Vick, like a hole in the head.

The National Football League is not an organization out to promote a sport, it is a money making machine out to corrupt our youth by building up individuals of no morals and values as role models.

If they want their players to be role models, enforce a code of conduct.  Stop paying outrageous contracts that feed the depravity.

I am one person.  But I have a voice and I roar my protest against the storm.

About Leila

Born an orderly Scorpio, I write, take pictures, & do my best to live creatively.
This entry was posted in Animal Cruelty, Michael Vick, Personal, Responsibility, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Roar my Protest

  1. A. Nony Mouse says:

    So, did you see Vick’s interview on 60-minutes last night?

    • Leila says:

      Nope, I refused to give Vick or the NFL any advertising time. I’m getting ready to find that well-appointed cave for me, the cat and Quizz. And, of course, all my friends.

  2. daisydog says:

    I am with you! I am boycotting anything and all things NFL. Infact I am fed up with professional athletes period! Role models? I hope that when they play there are so many protestors and so much bad press that they won’t renew his contract, plus I also hope he sucks on his comeback. Sorry this is such a sore subject for me.

    • Leila says:

      True rehabilitation starts with mercy and compassion. I’ve not seen that from him yet.

      I don’t wish him ill, but I can’t wish him success in the environment that set him up to be what he was prior to his incarceration.

  3. Jennifer says:

    Ugh. I try not to even think about it. I never liked the NFL to begin with, because as you point out, they seem all too willing to overlook a person’s criminal background–as long as that person can play football. Way back when the story broke, I told my husband Vick would be playing football again in no time. I really hoped I’d be wrong. 😦

    No one in my family really likes football to begin with, but I’m trying to do my part by boycotting the Eagles’ sponsors. Giving up Dunkin Donuts is a lot harder than it sounds!

    • Leila says:

      I know. The NFL sponsors are pretty invasive in our lives. I don’t watch the NFL as a general rule. But I’m seriously aggravated by the cavalier attitude of these people.

  4. sandra says:

    well said , the problem with the michael vick thing is that they dont knw the complete story they just knw he got busted bankrolling a dog fighting ring(which is disgusting enough ) if they took the time to read of all the dispicable things he did with his own hands they would be singing a diffrent tune by now.
    all we can do is give our pitties extra hugs and kisses and get the word out about pittie love. every chance i get that i hear someone say that he deserves another chance i let them knw what that monster actually did . and every single one of them changed their minds about the situation. a lot of people just need to be informed.unfortunately like with alot of things with pitties its all media based.

Leave a comment