Temptation


Inspired by Mushroom’s story, I couldn’t help but share a story about Quizz from when he was a puppy.

My family and I were celebrating a last barbecue in the house we’d grown up in. The day was bittersweet.  The house was empty, the echoes were spooky.  We were sitting around on the last of the basic furniture before the final packing of the last truck.

Quizz was soooo excited to be around everyone. He was still such a PUPPY!  All wiggles and no sense.  So much energy and no way to harness it, except for constant games of ‘Go Get IT’ (he hadn’t mastered the art of release yet). Of course, little kids and the puppy would all go running after the ball.  Screams of laughter bouncing through out the house.

In the kitchen, steaks were being marinaded for the grill.  Every so often, Quizz would abandon the game to make sure nothing had been abandoned on the floor.

I had reminded my mother on several occasions to make sure that nothing was left to close to the edge of the kitchen counter. You see, Quizz had gotten to the point that he could just about see a whole new world of above the kitchen counter.

We’d all migrated back to the heart of the house.  Everyone had a job, set the table, prepare a salad, ride herd on the kids.  I was keeping a weather eye on my beloved pooch.  He was paying close attention to my mother, who was managing the meat. Did I mention that Quizz was scent oriented?

Mom stepped away from her station for a moment.  Quizz saw the opportunity.  In a flash, he was stretched as far as he could.  His prehensile tongue grabbing a piece of raw seasoned steak that was too close to the edge of the counter.

Proud of his acquisition he made dash for the exit.  I slid, doing a little leaguer proud, grabbing my dog by the barrel of the chest.  There was no way that I could let him have 6 oz. of raw steak.  No matter how happy it would make him.

The steak was already half way down his gullet.  My fingers were between his teeth prying his jaws apart.  The little brat was tightening his hold.  He wasn’t about to let his prize go.

Everyone in the room was clueless, all this had happened in exactly 5 seconds.

Quizz took a calculated risk.  Relaxed his jaws just enough to try to gulp his prize down his throat.  I got it!  As I whipped the fought over piece of meat out of his mouth and threw it toward the sink, Quizz lept up and clocked me in the forehead.  If I didn’t know that my dogs head was solid bone, I did now.

I sat on the floor with birds and stars swirling before my eyes.  Quizz was trying to decide which was more important, the steak or his mother.  Lucky for him, I proved to be more important.  Steak flavored kisses smeared my face, as he apologized for the knock to the noggin.

Who Me?

Who Me? Never!

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Animal, Dogs, Family, Personal, Pit Bulls, Remembrance, Silly, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Temptation

  1. A. Nony Mouse says:

    So let me guess. The almost Quizz eaten steak was washed off – cooked up – and given to your brother to eat (without his knowledge of the event)… right? You can finally admit the truth now!!

    • Leila says:

      Weeeeellll, since everyone was there and could identify the actual piece of steak. It was sacrificed to the great disposal god. No brothers were harmed or tormented….. this time. Bwhahaha!

  2. Dozer says:

    Quizz that wuz a wise choise. There is always anuther peece of stake to go after. But there is only one Mummys Luv.

    Yer pal Dozer

  3. daisydog says:

    Bonk! Ouch! mmm steak, but Dozer is right. Mummys last longer 🙂

    • Leila says:

      I also know that my mom can get anything out of my mouth. And I mean ANYTHING. So I don’t chew on things I’m not suppose to anymore. I don’t like her fishing around my mouth. It’s humiliating!

      Quizz 🙂

Leave a Reply

