When did Christianity become a Club?


Like a pocket of methane bubbling up from a cesspool, the rumor that members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (commonly known as Mormons) have been cited as being non-christian – again.  Despite the Christ-centered doctrine, the name Jesus Christ in the title, and the desire of its members to live Christ-centered lives.

I find it curious and a bit disheartening when people, with their own agenda of hatred, seems to take center stage in the media with their vitriolic rants.  Hating a group of people for the simple reason of fear is unacceptable in this day and age.

In the CNN.com article ‘Who says Mormons aren’t Christian?‘, Dean Obeidallah says:

But I can now say without hesitation that the LDS Church members we met represented the best of Christianity. They were truly caring and compassionate people.

And perhaps it’s overly simplistic to define an entire religion by the few hundred we met, but let’s be honest: many define religions, races and ethnicities by a few of their worst examples. I prefer instead to define minority groups by their best examples.

I can’t begin to know what sparks the fear that leads to hatred.  I try to live my life by the simple, yet powerful, phrase found in the Gospel of John,

 “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.” (John 13:34-35)

Am I perfect? No, but I’m trying to be the best that I can be everyday.

Yes, I am Mormon and I am a Christian.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Mormon, Mormons, Personal, Religion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

