The Original Angry Jay


image

Last night Maddie the magnificent was barking furiously. Not her normal, ‘Quizz, Quizz, where for art thou Quizz’. Rather, ‘OMG, I HAVE TO GET THAT THING!  AND EAT IT!’

I walked down to open the gate, that’s when I realized I had a bad, attitudenal blue-jay chick, who hadn’t quiet fledged.  Sitting quietly under a bush on Maddie’s side of the fence was its sibling.

Did you know that unfledged blue-jay chicks are FAST and hop around more than a frog in a mosquito swarm?

In the end, only Mr. Angry Jay survived the night.  And that was a surprise. After all, he was the one who saw the inside of Maddie’s mouth.  We got him in a shoe box with a warm cloth. Per a wildlife rehabilitator, I spoke with, I tried to feed him but he was having none of that.  He was smart enough to know I didn’t look like his mother.

I put him in the guest bathroom and prayed for the best.

This morning, the bird and I were both surprised.  If birds dream, I think this one was hoping the whole thing was a hallucination.  Me? I was grateful it was alive. 

2 teaspoon of scrambled eggs later (every time the bird opened his mouth to yell, I would stuff him full of food).  I was able to feed him twice before he crapped on my hand (ungrateful little…). I ended up calling our ACO.  They work with domestic and local wildlife and know the rehabilitators in the area.

Mr. Jay is on his way to a good place, he’s awfully cute for an angry fellow.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Animal, Compassion, Life, Personal, Responsibility and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Original Angry Jay

  1. Shawna says:

    Very cute post!

Leave a Reply

