Burning the Trust Bridge


I have a good personality. For years I heard, you are a natural at sales, you should go into sales!  I did work in department store settings and did reasonably well.  There was structure, a security net, product provided, and in the end I had a paycheck whether I made my numbers or not.

Then I tried insurance sales.  I found that I could eke by on 100% commission. In the end, the worry and stress wasn’t worth it for me.  I needed to know that I had financial stability. That and I wasn’t willing to prey on my friends and family for my earnings.

My winning personality wasn’t going to cut it when it came time to pay my bills with a penny in the bank.

Fast forward to today.  I know many successful sales people whom I respect and call friends.  They’ve made their pitch to me and sometimes I’ll bite and sometimes I won’t.  In the end all’s good.

I get irritated when I find myself being solicited unwillingly. My email from personal lists and used for their professional gratification.  Without even giving fair warning.  A line has been crossed.

I get even more aggravated when you point out the error, the individual says they will correct their over site, and another solicitation email is in my inbox the next week.

In my world, church email lists, are not to be used for personal gain (i.e. for business, political fundraising, or the like). When my email has been taken from this list and used in a business email, and that is the only way it could have been obtained, trust has been breached.

I know that the economy is hard.  People are scrambling to earn an honest buck.  It is never a good idea to burn the trust bridge.  Ever.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Economy, Friendship, Life, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

