Honor Code Violations


I went to Brigham Young University.  It was my choice.  In the stringent application process, which included recommendations from my church leaders, personal recommendations and an interview with my church leaders.

I understood all this.  This is a school sponsored by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. I am of that faith.  I wanted to be in an environment where there were people held similar values.

I understood that I would be required to live by the Honor Code.  In a nutshell this meant that I would honor the values I had been raised with.  No pre-marital sex. No alcohol. No smoking. Honor the law. Go to Church. Be an honorable person.

This is part of the package in attending Brigham Young University.  There is nothing wrong with it.  In fact, as it is my choice and the choice of the students who agree to the Honor Code, there is something right about it.  The fact that university officials are saying that ethics are more important that an athlete that can raise advertising dollars is exemplary.

The sad truth is we have seen the exact opposite in other major university across this nation.  Students who have excelled in sports and had no moral code, who have gone on to be rewarded for egregious behaviors.  University officials who have turned a blind eye to those behaviors for the purpose of the almighty advertising dollar.

Brigham Young University has yet to say what the Honor Code violation is.  As such violations are confidential, BYU will not make a statement as the nature of the violation.  EVER.

It is alleged that Brandon Davies himself revealed the reason to a reporter at the Salt Lake Tribune.

The national news and blogosphere has jumped all over this because of the salacious aspect of sex.

The larger picture is being missed.  The world is up in arms over the wrong thing.  Everyone should be taking a hard look at their own reaction to an organization that is willing to stand by their values and morals.  Stand by the Code that has set them apart for a hundred years. A Code that has produced thousands of good people that they work with and can count on when the world is in trouble.

I am a Member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.  I have lived the Honor Code and it has made me a better person.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in God, LDS, Mormons, Personal, Responsibility and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

