Context People! Context!


A paper was recently published and its findings were reported in the National Geographic Magazine – ‘Small Nuclear War Could Reverse Global Warming for Years‘.

Eureka! Screams the blogosphere. The Earth is saved!

Most people haven’t read past the title.  If they did, they’d realize that was the hook to lure the unsuspecting person into the article.

The reality of the article is much different.

Even a regional nuclear war could spark “unprecedented” global cooling and reduce rainfall for years, according to U.S. government computer models.

We can’t afford to have even one minor nuclear skirmish because the global environmental impact could be devastating.  No summer for several years, impacting agriculture (food production), sending economies crashing due to shortages.

As article like this one are brandished around the internet, taken completely out of context, the last thing we need as a race or a planet is for some wacko to get it in their head they can ‘save’ the planet by causing a small nuclear incident.  We have enough hot heads that have their own  nuclear devices. We don’t need any more.

My take on it?

Everyone step away from the nuclear warheads and no one will get radiated!

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Government, Opinion, Personal, Politics, Responsibility, Technology, World Events and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

