Lunch Today


Today is my brother’s oldest child’s birthday.  (Happy Birthday Ella!) Hot on this day’s heels is the birthday of his second daughter Hannah. I decided to buy a joint gift this year.  They have fallen in love with the movie ‘How to Train Your Dragon‘.

In order to get back my semi-permanently borrowed movie I decided giving the girls their own DVD would solve some ownership issues.  In order not to create ‘giving’ issues, I’ve chosen to give it to the girls between their birthday.  I pulled my s-i-l aside to let her know the plan.

So they came over for lunch and cupcakes.  Then they realized that they had a couple of hours to kill before they went ice-skating.  A conversation took place at the table that went something like this:

S-I-L: Girls, your auntie has gotten you a gift for both of you.  Do you want to open it now or later?

Ella: Oooo Now!

Hannah: Mmmm. I don’t know. Let  me think.

Meanwhile their dad comes in and asks to kill the time before freeskate begins and now with watching a movie.  They know that I have a ton.  The Birthday Girl gets to pick, her choice is ‘How to Train Your Dragon’.

S-I-L: Have you made up your mind when you want to open Auntie Leila’s gift?

Hannah (looking at her sister with a very evil grin): I’ll wait for my birthday! (which is a month away)

Neither girl knows that they are getting the DVD they are currently watching for their collective birthdays.  They really don’t understand why their mother, aunt and grandmother are giggling like loons.  In exactly two-weeks I’ll present the gift to them to open.  I can’t wait to see their faces.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Family, Imagination, Inner-Child, Life, Personal, Silly. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

