Don’t Bring God into This


Michael Vick is making his ‘Dog Fighting is Bad’ rounds to high school students.  The man has served is time. He has paid a debt to society as put forth by the justice system. He has gone on to reclaim his former life and his former glory.

This has sent a highly in appropriate message to the youth he is targeting.  Basically, his actions show – knowingly commit felony crimes (dog fighting is a felony in all 50 states), give a tearful apology on national television, get a judicial slap on the wrist, & then get your pro-football career back – that tells high schoolers ‘if I can do it, you can too!’

What gets me is that in his message to students in Connecticut he states:

“One day, God said to me, ‘What you’re doing to these dogs is wrong and I’m going to punish you for it,'” Vick said. “And four days later I was indicted.”

My question is, was that before or after he was party to the strangling, mutilating, electrocuting, and/or shooting of countless dogs because they didn’t perform well in his dog fighting ring.  Was that before he was arrested?  Somehow I don’t think so.

It’s easy to ‘find God’ when you’ve been caught.  Much harder to find any kind of enlightenment when you are in the abyss of misery that is animal cruelty.  To date, Mr. Vick has made to no effort to check on or visit any of the dogs or the organizations who harbored, fostered, or rescued these dogs seized from his property.

Personally, I want nothing to do with Mr. Vick.  I don’t wish him ill, because that is a reflection on my character.  I do want him to acknowledge the consequences of all of his actions.  His arrest, his indictment, his difficulties all of stem from the personal choices he made.  Don’t bring God into this.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Animal Cruelty, Dogs, Michael Vick, Pit Bulls. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

