Music in my Head


I have very eclectic taste in music.  You can’t really pin me down and say I like one particular genre.  Music is something that is highly personal. For me, it evokes passion, creativity, thought, emotions and/or just inspires me.

I currently have on my MP3 player a really strange mix:

1. Mumford and Son – Folksy Rock with a hint of refined blue-grass hailing from across the pond.  I can’t say there isn’t one song on the album I don’t like.  But, my two favorites are The Cave and Timshel

2. Florence and the Machine – another import – Her drive, creativity and fun is inspiring.  The Dog Days are Over is a particular favorite of mine.

3.  Alexi Murdoc’s  Time without Consequence is an older album, but is a sweet introspective collection.  Two of my favorite songs are Breathe and All My Days.

4.  From the How to Train Your Dragon soundtrack – Jonsi has a fabulous song called ‘Sticks & Stones’ – It evokes the freedom of childhood and is a joy to listen to.  Makes me wish I had my own dragon as a friend.

Then there are the classics from Queen (Freddy Mercury was a true legend), Peter Gabriel, The Who, and many more that help me focus so I can get my stories out of my head on the page.  I love so many songs from the mainstream to classical.  The only criteria is that they have to move me.  The music has to make an impact on me.

What kind of music do you like and why?

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

