Remembrance


Here in the United States, we approach a date that holds a slew of emotion – September 11, 2001.  Very few people can not tell remember where they were or what they doing the moment they were drawn into the drama and emotional tumult of that day.

Me, I was preparing for just another day in the office. My radio tuned to NPR. I was working for a large software company in Provo, UT.  I was in the office early, as was my custom, to get a jump on the day.  I had just booted the computer when the new broke about the plane hitting the first tower.  Minutes later, the strike of the second plane would shock us all.  Then, the Pentagon and Flight 11.

The first responders at all the sites, reacted heroically in the face of such devastation.  At those moments the only thing that mattered was making sure that as many people as possible made it out alive.

Outside of the chaos, the arm chair quarterback ruled the airwaves.  Shouting vitriolic rhetoric about racism and hate. While the quiet wave of the compassionate, charity oriented rose to serve their fellow man, woman and child regardless the color, religion or nationality.

As we approach this anniversary, once more we hear the airwaves filled with rude behavior of the attention grabbing deviants who seek to line their own pockets on the sorrows of others.  How disgusting.

As I remember this event, I choose to heal.  To reach out to my neighbor.  Embrace my fellow traveler on this world and  get to know them better, while hopefully letting them know me.

I choose to be a better person than yesterday and leave this world a better place.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Charity, Opinion, Politics, Religion, Remembrance, Responsibility, World Events and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

