Random Acts of Kindness


I came across this blog post this morning and I have to admit it brought me to tears. A Not So Random Act of Kindness triggered tears of awe and inspiration. Of remembrance.  A kick in the ass that I need to be better at identifying needs and acting on them.

When the woman is called on her seemingly inconsequential action, she says the following:

“I figure if I can afford this [purchasing a grilled cheese sandwich for a homeless man], I can afford to do that,” she said.

“Still, it is very nice to see,” I offer.

“I look to see what I can do,” she tells me. “This, I can do. No big deal.”

I agree with the author of this post.  Things that seem to of little or no importance to our grand scheme can make a huge difference in someone else’s life.  We just don’t necessarily see it.  Other’s may, but we don’t.

Honestly, I don’t think we need to see the impact. The act alone is something that fulfills, uplifts and expands your world.

I have been the recipient of acts that have buoyed me up and changed the course of my day.  The perpetrator of those kind acts would never thought those small things would have amounted to much. I may have a lot on my plate at the moment, but kindness is not something I can afford to sacrifice under any circumstances.

(The Random Acts of Kindness Foundation)

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Gratitude, Humility, Kindness, Life, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Random Acts of Kindness

  1. daisydog says:

    Thanks for sharing this. It reminds me that daily this is something we need to do in some way.

Leave a Reply

