Because It Makes You Happy


I found this blog with all sorts of signs and saying that are uplifting. I’m going to have to revisit – often.

I get so caught up in the things that I have to do, that I forget to do the things that I want to do.  I’m getting better.  But I find myself fenced in by the expectations of others.

When they ask why I want to do something.  My answer of ‘It makes me happy. or Because I want to!’ isn’t enough for them.  I find myself overcome with an irrational anger towards theses individuals.  Why are they making it their business?  Don’t they have their own lives to live?

Who are they to determine what I can or can not do?  I’m an adult for DOG sake!  I pay my bills, I contribute to society.  They are puzzled because I don’t do things their way.  Frankly, I’m completely flabbergasted by their choices.  But I don’t sit there, judging them.  Demanding an explanation for their actions.  The reality is, I expect them to be accountable for their choices and deal with their own consequences.  Just like I am responsible for my own choices, living with my own consequences – good, bad & indifferent.

Good friends never make your life choices seem like a burden.  They can even kick you in the butt, because they’ve travelled the road with you and have earned the right to ask the hard question.  I just find the others, who only want the drama, gossip, or the right to say ‘I told you so’ exhausting.  Slowly but surely, I’m working on phasing these people out of my life.

My choices are my own. I don’t need a reason to do anything beyond – It makes me happy.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Friendship, Life, Personal, Stress. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Because It Makes You Happy

  1. A. Nony Mouse says:

    We hope to not be included as being considered one of the ambiguous “they” creatures. If we do start to become one of “them” – feel free to kick away, mon ami.

Leave a Reply

