Don’t Mess with Mother Nature


Last night a series of thunderstorms swept through the west end of Richmond.  Pounding rain, sweeping gusts of wind, and the gods bowling teams scoring strikes for 30 minutes straight.Mother Nature obviously was not happy with the score keeping with the pantheon bowling teams.  Haven’t the immortal being learned?  You don’t mess with Mother Nature?

Why would anyone want to challenge Mother Nature?

She must have been seriously annoyed.  Lightning hit the tree next to my house.  The  list of carnage is as follows:

  1. 2 DVR’s – one fried extra crispy
  2. 1 garage door opener
  3. The telephone lines
  4. The Fiber Optics Internet
  5. The Internet Router
  6. The sprinkler control system
  7. Update – 2 ethernet ports

All this, because someone cheated on the immortal bowling tournament. Really?  Couldn’t they have done it fair and square?

All I can say is Thank DOG for my iPhone!  Internet, phone, who could ask for for anything more?

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Life, Mother, Weather and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Don’t Mess with Mother Nature

  1. A. Nony Mouse says:

    Sorry you were thrown back in time by an “act of god” to when there were no such things as you listed. Leaving the iPhone out of the equation… think of this as a lesson in preparedness. Just how prepared are you to revert (albeit temporarily) to a time before the internet and DVR’s?

    • Leila says:

      Blah, blah, blah! I was prepared! I had my iPhone! And only 2 of the 3 DVR’s were killed. Since they were my mother’s, I say that is explanation enough. 🙂

  2. Wow, that’s kind of scary. We had huge storms here in Chicago and Mr. B was so scared. He had to hide in the bathroom on the little bathmat.

    • Leila says:

      I have to say that I’ve been really lucky with Quizz. No storm anxiety. When he was a puppy, I made a game out of the big storms that would come through. Everytime a huge clap of thunder would happen, he’d get a treat or a toy or a something to distract him. Now he just looks around and goes back to sleep.

  3. As my Murphy’s Law poster says, “Nature is a mother.”

  4. daisydog says:

    Wow scary! I guess it could have been worse :/

Leave a Reply

