Honoring Those Who Have Given


This is Memorial Day.  A day where we honor those who have and are serving our country in the numerous capacities to help us keep the privileges that we are accustomed to. But, I believe that Memorial Day extends beyond the armed services. I believe that Memorial Day extends to those who have lived their lives honoring the ideal of freedom for all.  Where an opinion will not get you killed.  An idea imprisoned.

Here in America, we shelter so many who have fled from lands where the mere idea of fairness, equality and ideological freedom are whispers in dark corners.  So, I say this day honors those who stand their ground and try to make their lands a better place too.

So I honor the members of my family who have served in the military, my father, my uncle, my cousins, my grandfather.  I am in awe of my cousin currently in Iraq.  I also honor my great-grandfather who left Poland during the Russian Revolution to give his family an opportunity to have a future.  I honor those who got left behind and were killed in the concentration camps.

For all those who stand for freedom – I say, ‘Thank you.’

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Gratitude, Patriotism, Remembrance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Honoring Those Who Have Given

  1. Excellent post — there is no holiday for those others you’ve mentioned, but perhaps there should be.

Leave a Reply

