Puppy Brains


Over at 3 Woofs & a Woo the Food Lady is pondering the personalities of dogs.  Specifically her puppy Dexter who has entered in to the adolescent stage.  This is a stage for male dogs where, I swear on a stack of all things holey, they lose what little brain cells they were born with.  Or they just stop functioning all together.

If the dog could talk, they’d argue with you like a regular teenager.  The fact that they can’t speak is the one thing that keeps them alive I tell you!

The spirited discussion brought memories of Quizz as a puppy/adolescent.  When I first brought Quizz home, I shared a house with my mother in Maryland on the farm I grew up on.  A fabulous 5-acre property, an amazing place to grow-up on.  For a puppy?  Let me count the distractions: deer, rabbits, birds, racoons, opossums and all the neighbor’s koi pond.

If Nirvana existed?  Quizz had it.  His little black nose of doom was the happiest nose around.  We would wander around the property following scents.

During day while I was at work, we had a tree with a tie on it.  Long enough for him to have a ball and not get tangled up, shaded enough for him to be comfortable.  Usually Mom would let him sit out there everyday for a little bit.  When she came to get him, he would run straight for the back door.

I tell you all of this because there is always an exception to the rule when it comes to puppies.  Especially puppies with an amazing curiosity.  Apparently Quizz caught a scent.  Not just any scent but THE SCENT!!!!!!!!  He took off for the road, Route 27 to be exact.  This was the equivalent of the 100 yard dash for a puppy.  He had to make an effort to get down to the road.

27 was a rural route that was extremely busy, our house was at the bottom of a large bowl like dip.  Blind on the side we were on, but you could see for a mile and a half from the other.  Mom couldn’t run back in to grab the leash, she had to try and stop my beloved pooch from getting smushed!  (she knew the correct priorities)

Quizz managed to stop traffic both ways without making the evening news.

Picture the following.  A white bundle of energy going from car to car saying hello.  Finally stopping at one because it looks like mine.  The lady in the car, realizing that he meant no harm, opens the door and Quizz jumps in like he has no care in the world.  My mother is beyond any emotion I can write about.  All she has are the laces in her tennis shoes to drag the hapless, clueless poochie up to the house. (For the record, Quizz is 25 lbs of wiggly puppy and did not like to be carted about, so carrying him was not an option.)

Securing the shoelace to the color, Quizz prances besides my mother across the highway, up the driveway, straight into the kennel to await my arrival home from work.

I am oblivious to the entire drama until I get an irate “Your Dog …” call as I’m getting ready to leave work.

Quizz was fast asleep in his kennel when I got home. Clueless.

Yep, the adolescent brain is a mystery.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Animal, Dogs, Family, Life, Personal, Pit Bulls and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

