An Unwelcome Pest


I’m a good dog owner.  I keep my dog updated on flea and tick control.  Really I do!

Imagine my horror when I find in the corner of my dog’s mouth, an engorged tick.  In the CORNER OF HIS MOUTH!  I’m sorry, that is the weirdest place EVER!  I can see an ear or the arm pit or around the groin.  But, really, the mouth?

Quizz was not amused to have me grabbing at his tender lips to remove the offending bug.  Luckily, he has always let me fish weird things out of his mouth with ease. I refuse to post a picture of the critter. Ick!  But it met its demise at the end of a match.

So my question is to all my dog friends out there is, where is the strangest place you have ever found a tick on your dog?

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Pit Bulls and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Unwelcome Pest

  1. Oh, how awful! We haven’t actually found ticks on our dogs, which I guess is one benefit of living in Chicago. We do have the downfall of not having a lot of green places to roam.

    • Leila says:

      This is the first tick I’ve found on him in Richmond. But I’m still really, really skeeved by the entire removal process. Eeeeewwwww!

  2. Ugh! We found one running around in our bed one time. That was nasty but at least it wasn’t attached to a dog.

Leave a Reply

