Time – the Finite & Infinite


The Doctor: People assume that time is a strict progression of cause and effect, but ‘actually’ from a non- linear, non- subjective point of view – it’s more like a ball of wibbly, wobbly, time-y, wemy … stuff.”. – Doctor Who – Blink (2007)

Time has always been my friend and my enemy.  When I am stressed out, under the gun, I can tick off every single microscopic increment of time.  I usually vigorously curse it as it slips through my fingers. Marching forward with or with out me.

Ironically, when my life is humming along time  is fluid.  I don’t sense its drumbeat of passing. Instead I revel in the sea of possibilities. Diving into the swells as I joyfully swim in its vast sea.

So I live my life in an eternal conundrum.  How do I keep the elasticity of the infinite flexibility time in my life while accomplishing my goals?

The answer to this question comes only with some true evaluation of my life.  I’ll be honest.  When I get this point, I seldom what to ‘hear’ those answers.  Then again, that is precisely when I need know the answers.

You see the funny thing is, the times that I struggle the most are the times that I am going against what my strengths, potential, and talents are.  I’m swayed by influences that do not have my best interests at heart.  That critic in my head is having far more impact than it should.

So, I have to regroup. Give more of my true essence.  During this time, I can’t afford to circle the wagons and hermetically seal myself into a bubble. I have to go play in my wibbly, wobbly, time-y, wimey ball of time.

Because, frankly I have the time.

What I do with it is defines me.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Imagination, Life, Personal, Self-Awareness, Stress and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Time – the Finite & Infinite

  1. Time is a frenemy to us all. If only we had our own TARDISes …

  2. A. Nony Mouse says:

    I always thought that we had a certain (but limited) amount of control over spacial dimensions. However as a human – time is something which we must deal with as it comes. It cannot be slowed, stopped or reversed using human powers.

    Both space and time are integral parts of *my* universe. Which leads me to the premise that you might not actually be from here – and are possibly not quite human. Hummm… how else can a discovery of supposed eddies in the space-time continuum be explained?

  3. daisydog says:

    Time, I always have either to much or not enough, but never at the same time. I gave Quizz an award 🙂

Leave a Reply

