Saint Patrick’s Day


A good friend of mine growing up wore Orange every Saint Patrick’s Day.  We knew each other from middle school through high school.  While everyone around here celebrated in various shades of green, with the various libations, and oddly colored green food.  Jan Pardoe wore orange to celebrate her equally Irish heritage.

I’m not Catholic, so this day has never had any real significance to me other than a day of celebration of heritage to those who are Irish.  So, I being a good friend would were orange in solidarity.

I did learn an important lesson.  Knowing where we come from is as important as knowing where we are going.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Friendship, Life, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saint Patrick’s Day

  1. A. Nony Mouse says:

    So, what was the significance of wearing orange? I’ve never heard of that before.

  2. Leila says:

    Those who wore Orange were/are Protestant Irish.

  3. Oh yeah, I remember reading about the whole Orange thing … although I can’t remember where …

Leave a Reply

