Respect


My proud city had some hateful visitors yesterday.  I’m not proud of the label ‘hateful’ but there is very few other ways to describe this disagreeable bunch of people.

That’s right folks the Westboro Baptist Church graced my fair city.  Bill Lohmann of the Richmond Times Dispatch summed the entire experience up in his article.  His summation of their visit was “It was kind of a joke. An unfunny joke.

Now don’t get me wrong I’m all for freedom of speech.  This country was founded on the belief of being able to express ones vision and beliefs.

But it was also founded on respect.  Respect for the individual and respect for religious beliefs.

While the members of the Westboro Baptist Church are lacking in their respect for religious freedom and individual determination.  They too have a right to express their beliefs.

I believe that person ideologies should be express through open dialogues and the art of living.  There is nothing more powerful that watching a person live their standards, beliefs, and moral codes.

If their life is truly God centered, standing on a street corner screaming obscenities to get attention is not what any Deity would ask their followers to do. Disrupting funeral rites, mocking the trauma suffered by others, just being plain horrible to people.  No.  No Deity I believe in would demand such disrespect.

Period.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Empowerment, Religion, Remembrance, Responsibility and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Respect

  1. A. Nony Mouse says:

    I like pie too!!

  2. This is a good post, I stumbled across your article while looking for music news. Thanks for sharing, I’ll be sure to return regularly.

  3. Kat says:

    It’s absolutely amazing to me what their plans are for tomorrow …. protesting the funeral of a fallen Marine (Iraq) at Arlington. The very person who fought for theirs rights as free people … they chose to disrespect? I vote we send them all to a 3rd world country with NO freedoms! Grrrr. IMHO

  4. I’m sure God will have a few choice words for these people when they’re standing on the corner outside the Pearly Gates. One of them probably won’t be, “Welcome.”

Leave a Reply

