Connections


A Connection is defined by Merriam-Webster as follows:

“a person connected with another especially by marriage, kinship, or common interest <has powerful connections>”

Family is one of the most power connections there are.  People without a family seek to find that familial connection.  Seeking lost parents, seeking a family unit, seeking a unit that they are bound to be a connection.

Really good friends can fill that void.  Becoming a family that is often stronger than the original.

An author, who I can’t remember, once said something to the effect of ‘parents tug on the family ties, because they are the ones who tied them there in the first place.’

I truly believe that a person can not function without connections.  Connections keep a person grounded, in tune with their surroundings.  An effort has to be made to make those connections work.  If the connection is only one-way on either side the relationship is unhealthy.

Sometimes in order to salvage the connection the relationship must be severed.  The process is painful.  For both parties.  But in the end the connection will be re-established in a healthy manner.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

