Hearts and Flowers


According to the advertisers and the cynical media, February should be all about candy, hearts and flowers.  Romance buzzing amongst the population, candy being thrown at loved ones in an effort to show affection despite the detrimental effect on the waistline.  Florists make a killing as swathes of roses are cut down across the world and shipped to the pinnacle consumer countries, in an effort to keep up the illusion of romance.

You might think that I’m cynical and anti-romance.  Quite the opposite, in fact.  I am an incurable romantic.  I believe in the power of love in all its forms.

What I am is anti- consumer and anti-waste.  I see no need for a holiday to proclaim the sentiment of Love, whether it be Eros, Phileo, or Agape (Romantic, Brotherly, or Spiritual).

The practice of love should be year round much like the practices of compassion, charity and kindness.  A holiday shouldn’t the reason to invoke a slew of proposals, marriages or other commitments only so people can remember their anniversaries.

Love is a philosophical lifestyle that doesn’t need to be given flashy accouterments to make it special.  Love is a labor which is rewarding and infinitely satisfying. It is a daily avocation, that fills the heart and flows into the lives of those who surround you.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Charity, Compassion, Friendship, Life, Opinion, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hearts and Flowers

  1. A. Nony Mouse says:

    So, how many times am I allowed to answer the poll on this blog posting? There’s a need inside of me to skew the results!!

  2. Schwang says:

    I think we need a fun holiday to look forward to as we’re going through these awful winter months. On the other hand, I work at an inner-city high school and one of the clubs was sponsoring a “get married for the day” event. You pay $5, dress up and get married, and get a certificate. It was kind of weird..

    • Leila says:

      There are sooooo many mixed messages in that particular high school event. High school was traumatic enough…

      I agree, just have a fun holiday where everyone is happy. But, then again, it’s winter and I tend to hole up anyway. This holiday should have been in the spring.

Leave a Reply

