Monday Whine


My day started with the whine and clunk of my engine struggling to turn over in the deep freeze of 18 degree dawn. Determined to make my mind more powerful than physical science, I fruitless turned my key. Saying things under my breath that, yes, I would indeed have to repent for. Giving up. I stomped back into the house vastly irritated with the world.

The cat and the dog, having only said farewell five minutes before, greeted me with ecstatic meowing and butt wiggling. Yes, I cracked a small smile. But it was fleeting. Mom was too cheerful for my angst. Trying her best to jolly my out of my cranky mood, she didn’t realize how close she came to meeting her Maker. Finally, she offered her car. I would have been fine with a ride.

The day only slid farther into my dark side of angst. Meetings that slipped past my notice, people who had lost their minds, and sales people who’s soul purpose was solicit company information for their nefarious deeds. No, I was not happy. Not happy at all.

Lunch time arrive, I dashed away to the house in a effort to resurrect the electrical impulses of my automobile. Surely, the battle of the rising mercury would be kind to my battery. But no. After hopping around after the tire of my car abused my toe, I walked steadfastly back into the house ready to call the roadside assistance. Ready to dial, I notice that my boss had called me. Twice. Didn’t he know that this, my lunch hour was sacred? Returning the call, because he would continue to call me, I found that he couldn’t remember his calendar. Well neither could I! With my toe throbbing with every step, I arrived to my computer to give him the information. Infusing my voice with a smile. Darn it!

Summoning Roadside Assistance, they gallantly answered my call. Infusing my charge-less battery with life. Mounting my faithful steed, I sped off to the dealership in the hopes that it would be something warranty related, but knowing that I wouldn’t be so lucky.

After a kindly soul drove me to my employment, my hopes were dashed as they did indeed confirm that my automobile’s battery had betrayed me. Dying long before it’s time. $100.07 later, I collect my steed and drive off to the horizon knowing that, indeed, the world is out to get me.

Anyone else have a better Monday whine?

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Life, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monday Whine

  1. A. Nony Mouse says:

    Did you want some cheese with that?

  2. daisydog says:

    Great Wine, even though its only a 2010!

Leave a Reply

