Kindle Madness


So Santa was good to this bookworm.  I found a Kindle under my tree!  WooHoo! (Okay, it was early but I know that Santa’s a busy guy.)

Now don’t get me wrong, nothing will ever truly replace the texture and feel of the paperback or the hardback.  But…

Not having to lug a suitcase full of books when I’m traveling because I’m bored and I need to read will be a blessing.

I have to admit the Kindle is a weird feeling thing.  My mom said it felt like the bottom of a frying pan.  She wasn’t that far off. So I started looking at covers.  I just about had a heart attack!  For what was out there, the prices were exorbitant! Then my creative brain started firing, when I should have been writing. Hmmmm! I can make one!

8 prototypes, and 3 days later success! A working model. I have to fine tune a few details but the major components are in place.  The pattern is made, I just have to fine tune the materials a little.  I just happen to have a fabulous brown embroider corduroy on hand.   I think it turned out pretty well.  The important part is that when in place, the Kindle doesn’t shake out of the cover! And the cover will work for the Nook and the upcoming Sony Daily Reader.


The cover has past the hold test and the purse test.  I’ll give it a couple more days before I start another out of other materials. Sky’s the limit.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Holiday's, Imagination and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kindle Madness

  1. I love my Kindle! I picked up a cover for mine that has a kickstand so I can set it up and read it at lunch without having to hold it.

    • Leila says:

      That’s my next design mission. I think I can convert this pattern to have a stand. I just have to get a thin but sturdy material for the brace.

      But I love having tons of books at my fingertips. 🙂

  2. daisydog says:

    Wow! You should start selling them and make a fortune!

  3. Generally I don’t post on too many blogs but I just wanted to say that was great post. Great info. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

