Perspectives in Writing #1


It’s taken a few days for me to digest everything that I learned this weekend.

One of the themes that ran prevalent throughout all the workshops was as an author you should write to the story and characters, not to any outside influences.

At first blush that seems like a no brainer.  Write the story.  But there is a little voice in my brain that likes to say ‘Oooo your mother wouldn’t like that!’ or ‘What would the people at work or church say?’ or ‘Really, are you really an author?’  That censor that is so hard to squelch and tends to shred brilliant stories before they’ve reach daylight.

An author needs to find a way to muzzle that voice.  Sure, your mother, father, family or friends might be uncomfortable with parts of what you write.  Ultimately, they aren’t writing it and will understand that it is not a reflection on them.  If they chose to make so, their loss.

You pour everything into telling a story. Your blood, heart, soul only to strip it down re-frame, rework it until the experience you want the reader to have emerges.

Writing is not for the weak in heart.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Perspectives in Writing #1

  1. A. Nony Mouse says:

    Now I know what to get you for your birthday or Christmas… a muzzle for your critical voice!! Any ideas where I can get one?

Leave a Reply

