Dreams


Everyone should have a dream and work to achieve it.

I want to be a published novelist.  I can already say that I am published.  My local newspaper has published me several times as Correspondent of the Day in their Editorial Section. The thrill of seeing my name in print never gets old.  My next goal is to finish my writing project and get it published.

Today I spent the day with others who share my goal.  I attended my fifth James River Writers Conference.  This conference never fails to educate and inspire me, leaving me energized to pursue my dream. It also leaves my brain stuff full of information that will take all night to process.

One of the perks of attending the conference is being able to get face to face time with literary agents who let you pitch your current projects.  The feedback is invaluable.  I had a lovely 5mins with Elizabeth Evans with the Kimberly Cameron Agency.  While she felt that my project wouldn’t be a fit for her agency, she felt that the project had merit.  She  offered to send me the names of agents she thought would be interested in my story.

I couldn’t be more thrilled.

You have to understand that all the agents who attend this conference are brutally honest.  They pull no punches.  Not to be cruel, but to help us be better authors.  This is something that I can respect.

So, I put my goals and my dreams out for all to see.  I take the wisdom I’ve learned from David Robbins, Frankie Bailey, Michael Knight, Scott Nelson and Clay Chapman, just to name a few, and apply it to my storytelling.

I say to all who have a dream, large or small, take the risk and pursue it.  Whatever the outcome, you will only be richer for the experience.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Empowerment, Imagination, Life, Literature, Personal, Self-Awareness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

