Adventures in Windows 7


So, I’m one of the lucky people to have a LEGAL advanced full copy of Windows 7.  How did I get this?  I volunteered to host a Launch Party for Windows 7.  Yes, I know that this is shameless marketing at its best.  But, the end result is that I don’t have to pay for the software and I have friends over for a fun night.  I’m looking forward to learning the new operating system.  It will make my inner geek sing!

Well…

I started the install.  Followed the instructions from Windows XP Professional to Windows 7.  This required a full install, not an upgrade.  The software they sent me could accommodate that.  But the install stalled on the ‘EXPANDING WINDOWS FILES (27%) …’.  Not know the size of the files I waited and waited.  After an hour I became concerned.  So I called the support number.  The number provided by Microsoft. Surely, they would have support for the people they sent copies too.  Surely?

Thus began my descent into Customer Service Misery!  You see, the average Customer Support Agent (CSA) hadn’t heard about the Launch Parties, not one clue about anything. Nor were they aware of the LEGAL software being distributed prior to the launch date of 10/22.  My calls started out civil.  By by the 6th CSA who spouted the same schpeel about how there was no support for Windows 7 until 10/22. I got a tad irate.

My voice rose to a pitch that sent Quizz galloping down the stairs and out the back door.

MICROSOFT MADE ME SCARE MY DOG!

By this time I was chanting to the CSA, “Let me speak to your supervisor!” Over and Over.  I know that I sounded like a woman possessed of the devil.  The only reason the CSA didn’t hang up on me was that I threatened to call back and mention her name, which I had faithfully written down, as a bad experience.  Finally the Supervisor came on the line.

LO and BEHOLD! The Supervisor had actually heard of the Launch Parties and the software that was being sent out in advanced.  She was willing to help me find the tech support that I KNEW existed for people like me for this situation.  By the way, her name was Joey and she ROCKS!  She got me to Vanessa to open a service ticket to help me resolve the problem.

By this time I had spent a total time of 2.5 hours on the phone speaking to various people.  Of course the service desk I needed was closed. Their hours are 5am to 7pm PST, I live on the East Coast.  They were set up specific to the Lauch Party people (SEE other CSA’s, the tech support does exist!  NeeNer NeeNer).

So, my main computer is out of commission until tomorrow when I call the tech support desk. I have apologized to my dog and soothed his ruffled soul.  Microsoft has redeemed itself in my eyes.

I’m tired.  I’m going to bed.

UPDATE: 10/8/09 – Got it installed WITHOUT any help from the vaunted tech support at Microsoft.  I left a message with my service tag number, phone number and a plea.  Then I sucked it up.  I figured it out.  Leila – 1  Microsoft – 0

Starting to play with all the Windows 7 features.  I have noticed a noted speed change for the better in loading and processing.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Life, Responsibility and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Adventures in Windows 7

  1. A. Nony Mouse says:

    Silly girl for buying a computer with a soon to be replaced OS *before* the Windows 7 official launch – thus necessitating an obligatory channeling of evil CSA spirits.

    That being said – I await your geeky observations of this new OS (should you ever fully exorcise the demons out of the computer). I have faith in your skills!! 😎

  2. Ahhh, customer support … always such fun to deal with!

  3. Jennifer says:

    Sweet, Windows 7! I’ve heard good things. Keep us posted. I’m tired of bouncing between my XP and Vista machines; ready for unification, assuming W7 is an agreeable option. (But I’m a little scared to upgrade, after dealing with Vista.)

    • Leila says:

      My laptop is Vista, I definitely notice a performance difference. I’m using Chrome with 7 and so far everything is playing nicely. I especially like the drag and drop features of the Windows Live Writer for pictures. It plays nicely with WordPress.

Leave a Reply

