My Mother’s Twin


I have a very complicated relationship with my mother. With the passing of my father, I have been cast in a role that I am not completely comfortable with. Companion, confidante, and buddy. At the same time my mother rarely extends me the respect of honoring my opinion or acknowledging my accomplishments that she doesn’t value. It would seem that I would need to be a sycophant in order to truly make her happy. Yet, the funny thing is that is not how she raised me.

So I bite my tongue, rarely if ever expressing my true opinion while listening to her rant about things. Which, as she gets older, becomes more & more closed minded. If I dared express a divergent opinion, I am accused of attacking her.

I truly struggle with this. My siblings are of no use on this matter. In their eyes my silence makes me look weak. The truth is they can not even make their own peace with their own childhoods. I made my peace a long time ago, otherwise I wouldn’t be able to live with her.

We all need companionship. That is a simple truth. Some more than others. Family, friends, &/or pets can fill that role. Frankly, my mother needs someone. No matter what she says, she needs companionship. Left to her own devices, she would sequester herself waiting to be approached.

She & I differ in this aspect. I work all day with people and truly need my down time. Yes, family counts as people. When I come home I just want to be left alone to decompress, not be her company because she’s been alone all day.

I say all this not to bag on my mother, because I truly do love her. Our needs are simply different. I discuss this because people often comment that I look like my mother’s twin. Depending on the day and my feelings, I flinch. Because, while my mother really is a remarkable woman and has many qualities I wish to emulate. I need people to understand that I am myself.

Plastering a smile to my face, I thank them for the comparison, but deep I my heart I wish they would phrase it just a little different. I wish they would say instead, “Your mother must be proud of the woman you’ve become.”

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Family, Personal, Remembrance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Mother’s Twin

  1. Jessica says:

    Just know, in the end, you can look back without regret and without “I should have done …more.”

    it will make all the difference.

  2. Jeni says:

    No, you do no look like your mother’s twin. No.

  3. A. Nony Mouse says:

    And here I thought that I was your twin!! Your *evil* twin granted… but a twin nonetheless.

  4. Dozer says:

    I’m struggling with my mother, too, especially now that she’s divorced (for a second time), living alone and lonely, and really… how do I put this nicely… losing her mind. I really want to respect my elders, but when my mom is telling me how to microwave rice as if I had never done it before, or saying the word “naproxen sodium” for the billionth time (so she can sound educated?)… I just want to scream. I couldn’t live with her. I fret when people say I sound just like her. So I really understand what you’re dealing with–and I respect you for it.

Leave a Reply

