Cats!


Boy am I in trouble.  Mind you I didn’t start it.  The cat did.  Honestly!

Who knew that a cat’s anal gland could explode, okay rupture.  But if you saw the mess you’d say explode to.

With Mom out of town the first few days Charlie was great, then Friday and most of Saturday he spent under my bed.  I thought he was sulking.  Missing my mom.  No, he was hiding because he didn’t feel well.

I tempted him out to get him to eat. Boy, did I lose my appetite.  I won’t post pictures, I’m not that cruel.  After an after hours call to the vet, frantic calls to my mother, and a lot of waiting. I had my answer about the cat’s problem.  My mother is aware that I’ll be spending money at the vets.

AND, just for giggles… Charlie is now sporting a stylish yellow e-collar.  Charlie is NOT PLEASED.

photo (6)

Help Me! Someone Send the Authorities! Please!

Now the cat really is sulking.  After spending an hour trying to back his way out of the collar he finally gave up.  Putting himself to bed in his bathroom cabinet, after shutting the half-bath door so that I know that he is truly, supremely annoyed with me.  Yes he looks pathetic with his head hanging out of the cabinet.

I can’t wait until tomorrow when I get him started on his antibiotics…. wait for it…. in pill form.  Yes, me versus the cat.  Oh what fun.  I don’t think I have enough cat treats available to bribe my way back into the cats good graces.

Oh, and Monday at the vets, he’ll either have a simple procedure of getting his anal glands expressed OR have to be anesthetized and have the entire region ‘expressed’ with an antibiotic solution.

I’m going to need some heavy duty prayers and positive energy for Charlie the cat.

UPDATE:  The cat has slipped the collar twice.  I’m going to tie it to him.  He should be named Houdini! Grrrr!

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Animal, Cats, Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cats!

  1. daisydog says:

    Oh dear! Sounds like not a fun time was had by anyone!

    • Leila says:

      No, Sir Charlie is Sad but Resolute. But Quizz is being a champ. Sharing all his nap spots and giving Charlie his prime couch spot. He knows that Charlie is not up for their usual romps.

  2. Katcicero says:

    Hmpf! Stoopid Hoomans! Dunt they no we no like stoopid neklace? Me send good ju ju 2 u Charlie.

    Wuv,
    Gideon

  3. Dozer says:

    hahahahahahahahahaha oh my goodness lookit that collar its YELLOW! And its on a kitty!! And–hey Mummy dont remind me bout my humilishun in the collar thats jest not fare!

    Yer pal Dozer

Leave a Reply

