ASPCA | Ed Sayres: The Road Ahead for Michael Vick


So, I’m not quite finished having my say on this matter.  Thanks to B-More Bulldogs for pointing out this worthwhile article.  I have to give the ASPCA MAJOR kudos for there stand on Vick.  And I thank them. 

They aren’t out for the 15 seconds of Publicity or the Name Recognition a partnership with Mr. Vick will give them.  They recognize the man as a person who has a long road to walk on his way to redemption. 

Only time will tell if the man has changed.  George Glass said it eloquently in his blog

 “SHOW ME THE DOGS.  Show me how they are thriving, show me where they went, show me their new homes, show me the people who are saving their lives, show me the people who have donated money to help, but please, just show me the dogs.”

Please take the time to read the statement from the ASPCA.  I believe that you will find no grandstanding. Simply a statement to continue to stand against animal cruelty and to continue to educate people in the better care of their animals.

ASPCA | Ed Sayres: The Road Ahead for Michael Vick

Posted using ShareThis

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Animal Cruelty, Dogs, Michael Vick, Pit Bulls, Responsibility and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ASPCA | Ed Sayres: The Road Ahead for Michael Vick

  1. Anne says:

    Ironically, Ed Sayres could have learned from Michael Vick’s former dogs.

    If he saw where they are now, he might not have passed a death sentence on Oreo.

    In his repsonse tothose who are horrified by teh decision to kill Oreo his response ended with “This is simply, and tragically, the case of a heartbreaking decision made all the more difficult by the ignorance and hypocrisy of a few.”

    He obviously has learned nothing from this — one wonders if he stops to think that, while being confronted with genuine grief and horror at his decision to kill Oreo is “more difficult” for him, it is MOST dificult for Oreo, who lost her life because teh ASPCA admin refused to let another a different, legitimate shelter work with her.

    • Leila says:

      You’ll get no argument from me on the treatment of Oreo. That case was and is a terrible tragedy. A calamity of decisions made to the detriment of a dog who could have had a chance, because someone/some organization actually stepped up to the plate.

      Please realize that this post was written well prior to the Oreo incident. In a different circumstance.

Leave a Reply

