My Dog is a Bed Hog


Somehow in the middle of the night I find myself contorted into the shape of a pretzel to accommodate my furry companion in my sleep.  When my body twinges repeatedly, waking up me up I’ll finally shove my hand under his body and move it.  He gets the hint and moves.  Not without giving the most beleaguered, put upon canine sigh imaginable.  He’s 57lbs and feels that the majority of the bed should belong to him.  I’m the human here.

I share this with you as an analogy to my life.  At times I seem to go along in on auto-pilot, each life event contorting me until I look like a Gordian knot.  Nothing is so simple that I can move it to make room to stretch out.  Family, work, friends, dreams all put the kinks and knots in the thread that is my life. While sometimes, I truly want to find a well appointed cave to run and hide in, life doesn’t work that way.

The more I struggle the tighter the knot becomes. So, I have to cut the knot, shearing away the kinks, twists and turns until I’m back to my core, my true self.  Able to finally stretch out and reclaim my essence.

So, that’s the dream. Back to reality.

Would I change my life no.  Knots, Kinks, Dogs and All are all in it for the long haul.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Empowerment, Personal, Silly and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Dog is a Bed Hog

  1. A. Nony Mouse says:

    Sorry for all the kinks I’ve brought into your life. But the knots don’t belong to me!!

  2. Leila says:

    But the kinks and knots all add spice to life!

  3. sandra says:

    completely undertand you , i have 2 pittie babies who share my kingsize bed with me but yet i find myself half the time on the edge about to fall with absolutely no cover left =)
    im fairly new at this blogging but i would appreicate if you’d like to ck out my blog about my pittie babies at http://kissa-bull.blogspot.com/
    any fellow pitbull lovers are more than appreicated =)

Leave a Reply

