Has the NFL Commissioner Lost His Mind?


Well Crap!  Michael Vick has been ‘conditionally’ reinstated in the NFL.  According to NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell:

“Vick can immediately participate in preseason practices, workouts and meetings and can play in the final two preseason games — if he can find a team that will sign him. A number of teams have already said they would not.”

The NFL has just confirmed that they are an organization after publicity.  You know the old adage, “There’s no such thing as bad press!” The only saving grace in all this is that there are teams out there that realize what a cluster signing Vick would be.  I hope that that ends up being the majority.

I’m not a football fan, so the loss of my viewership would never have made a difference.  But, I truly believe that this man does not deserve a second chance in the NFL.  Vick says that he has ‘changed’, well good for him.  If he has truly changed, I believe that he would seek another form of employment.  One that gave service to his community.  A lifestyle where he attempts to make amends for his prior behaviors, something where he shows remorse.  I don’t see that happening with him re-entering the NFL.

Look, I hope he has changed.  Everyone deserves an opportunity to be forgiven.  But that doesn’t mean that we can forget his victims.  Animal cruelty is often a precursor to more serious crimes.  He had no problem with the callous, cavalier treatment of dogs in his care.  It makes me wonder what he’ll end up being like with people. 

Somehow, I don’t think he has ever had a problem sleeping because of what he did.  He just lost sleep because he got caught.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Animal, Animal Cruelty, Dogs, Michael Vick, Pit Bulls, Responsibility, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Has the NFL Commissioner Lost His Mind?

  1. daisydog says:

    Yes he has lost his mind! I hate professional sports anymore and they glorify the drug addicts, spousal abusers, dog toturers to name a few. These are the people the kids are supposed to look up too?

  2. gjmcrae says:

    Very interesting blog i hope too see more, it can go back and fourth but which conference has the better players.

Leave a Reply

