Cat People and Dog People


So those who read my blog know that I am for the most part a dog person, with a soft spot for cantankerous, self-absorbed felines.  I guess that makes me a Cog person or a Dat person (however you choose to view it).  To be honest, I grew up in a house hold were dogs and cats lived in relative peaceful coexistence.  In fact.  The last dog we had was raised by an opinionated orange tom by the name of Spice. 

All this being said, not everyone is a dog person or a cat person. You have to figure this out on your own.  And there is nothing wrong with whatever orientation you land on. Dog, Cat, Cog, Dat, Fish, Rodent or Dust Bunny.  You can figure out your own limitations.

I know someone who is definitely a cat person.  He really hasn’t acknowledged this, but he doesn’t understand the work that goes into raising a well adjusted, well trained dog.  A year ago, he and his family got a cute adorable puppy, who was a joy to be around.  But from the beginning, this person just didn’t understand that a dog needs consistent boundaries and rules.  He felt that the dog should come pre-programmed with training and obedience.  (Wouldn’t that be a miracle?)

This weekend they made the hard decision to re-home the dog.  It isn’t the dog’s fault.  His wife and children are heartbroken.  But the truth is that the dog will be going to a family that can give it the discipline, exercise and attention he needs. 

I’m not telling this story to piss anyone off, or to say I told you so, or to start a diatribe against this person.  Honestly, he is not a bad person. I’m venting my sadness at the situation. 

When I made the decision to get my Quizz, I understood the commitment of time and energy that would be involved.  That I would have a faithful companion who would snore in my face on occasion, smother me in kisses and give me an amazing gift of unconditional love.  And he would eat the occasional shoe and book.  I knew that I was a dog person.  I also happened to adopt a dog who was a cat person.

My point to this long rambling entry is, when adopting an animal into your family, this is more than falling in love with a cute face.  You have to make sure that the fit is good for everyone in your family.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Animal, Cats, Compassion, Dogs, Family, Friendship, Personal, Responsibility and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cat People and Dog People

  1. Dog person here…with a mild fondess for cats…when they don’t poo in my yard or shed all over me…I’m so allergic to them.

  2. A. Nony Mouse says:

    I am defiantly a dog person (as my beloved childhood dog/friend, Sam, would attest to). Cats have their place in this world – just never in my home (unless I suddenly choose to never breathe again – because of allergies and not because cats will kill mice).

    But for now I’ll stick with my pet dust bunnies (thank you for mentioning them). I just don’t have the time it takes to be a proper and devoted dog mom right now.

  3. Jennifer says:

    Speaking as someone who has fostered a lot of cats, dogs, birds, and reptiles, I wish more potential adopters would foster before making a real commitment. It usually only takes a few days to know whether you can truly deal with a particular type of animal or an individual dog or cat. Fostering pushes you past the brief honeymoon stage and gives you a solid dose of reality, for better or worse. Puppies, in particular, lose their “cute factor” real fast when they pee on the carpet for the third time. 🙂

    Fostering has really helped me learn what type of dogs I do best with, and how many dogs I can reasonably manage without stretching my attention too thin. It’s also helped me acknowledge that I am not really a cat person (a difficult thing to concede; I grew up in a cat family and thought I hated dogs until I went away to college).

    Fostering is a win-win situation because the animal gets to stay in a loving home for a while, and the person who is fostering is learning a lot without making a long-term commitment. I encourage people who are thinking about getting a dog or cat, but aren’t sure if they have what it takes to commit to a decade or more of pet ownership, to foster first! There are even some foster-to-adopt programs that let you adopt your foster pet if things work out really well.

  4. Kat says:

    So true Leila and Jennifer. Fostering was how I decided whether or not to have two dogs. Two dogs won! I still fostered and wondered if three permanent ones would work. Alas, not.

    It was still easy to foster and have 3 dogs around – knowing that soon the 3rd one would go to its furever home. Then I could take a break and let yet another 3rd into the house again! Maybe I was destined to have 5 instead?! (Eeek, gads!)

    For now, I remain an animal person with 2 cats in tow. It is not time for a dog – that is – my wallet cannot handle 3 animals full-time vet bills. I hope that other folks understand the money part of animals too – you have to do what it takes, even if it is that special expensive food!

    Love you Leila and Quizz!

Leave a Reply

