An Adventure of Epic Proportions!


Today Quizz met a horse up close and personal!  Not from the safty of my brother’s house window, but in the field behind his home.  You see, my brother leases his property out to the local equine rescue league.  There are a variety of horses that are on the property from fairly wild mustangs to very friendly horses.  

Quizz got to meet two of the friendly kind. My three nieces, myself, Quizz & Tommy were going down to see his new calves when these two beautiful horses came strolling up to us.  Neither seemed perturbed or agressive, just really curious.  

Now, you have to understand that I have a healthy respect for anything larger than me. Especially when those somethings are doubled.  

One of the horses leaned his head down and sniffed Quizz’s nose.  Quizz froze, looking at me for direction.  I quickly walked between the two.  The horse snorted at me and walked around me leaned down and sniffed Quizz’s bottom.  At this point Quizz is really unconfortable, his tail is between his legs.  We are in a corner of fence and the garage.  My nieces quickly climb the fence and pull Tommy under the fence and I passed Quizz under.  

The horses look at me with an expression of “Hey!  Those are our new friends! Don’t take them away!”  At that moment my brother came through the big garage door and shooed them away.  

We felt that perhaps it was better that we put the dogs in the outdoors kennel.

Quizz & horse

As you can see the horses were still interested in the dogs, at least all the interaction was controlled.  After a few minutes of sniffing on both parts, the horses went back to grazing and the dogs wanted to see what we were doing. 

We were down at the barn looking at these adorable little critters.  Rosevelt and Lincoln.

IMG_1498

No the dogs didn’t get to meet the calves today, I think the horses were enough!

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Animal, Dogs, Family, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Adventure of Epic Proportions!

  1. A. Nony Mouse says:

    It is highly likely that a horse is more afraid of *you* than you are of them. Hence the ability of your brother to shoo them away (either that or your brother is an exceptionally large angry creature who intimidates all animals).

    As for those “adorable little critters” – calves will soon grow up!! At least a horse is beautiful from birth on up – but calves grow up into cows – and then you wonder what ever happened to the cuteness, which is gone forever at that point.

    As for us mice… we are just darn cute at all times!!

  2. Dozer says:

    Hey Quizz wow you got up close and personal with a horse?? I have only been close to a cow and it wuz not too close at all and I did NOT like it. Scary!!! Mummy sez it is cause we are city dawgs and there arent enny horses or cows in the city. Jest cars. Now mebbe if we rided on cows or horses all the time to get places then I would like them as much as I likes the car!

    Yer pal Dozer

    • Leila says:

      They were really big! There were two, the picture only shows one. Then they sniffed me! I’m with my mom, I’ll respect anything that big. When Tommy and I were in the kennel, we all sniffed each other, then the horses went back to eating grass. whew! Quizz

Leave a Reply

