Perception


I am the owner of a pit bull mix.  When I adopted my sweet, sweet boy his breed never crossed my mind.  I was looking for that soul connection and I found it.  That connection just happened to be a dog that was terribly misunderstood and villified in the media and general public.  

I am a middle-aged caucasian woman (yes I’m finally admitting I’m in the prime of my life), who is busy bucking stereotypes.  

Donna, from the Bad Rap organization posted a great piece today, about stereotypes.  Well meaning organizations have a habit of profiling people with pit bulls as being under-educated, on the low end of the economic spectrum, and just not good dog owners.  Donna concluded her blog entry with a well-done piece of film from the RSPCA. 

The truth is that there is no profile for being a pit bull owner.  We come from all walks of life.  We share one commonality, a love for an amazing breed of dog.

These dogs are intellent and willing to please.  They will fit in to your family like they have always been there.  They will love your children.  You’ll wonder how you ever lived your life without them in your life.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Animal, Animal Cruelty, Dogs, Family, Personal, Pit Bulls, Responsibility and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Perception

  1. Tank says:

    Hi..this is tank’s mom. What a great post. I am an educated 38 yr old caucasion woman and most everyone I meet is shocked that I have a pitbull. Funny thing to me. But before I had him I sort of stereo typed pit bulls with certain types of people. So I understand. I’m proud to be an educated pit bull owner. He’s the love of my life. I love to go places with him because people’s faces (seeing us together..especially with my kids) always make me laugh. Everyone thinks he’s gonna eat us..lol.

    • Leila says:

      Thanks. When I started my journey with Quizz, I just never knew who I would meet or how my world would open up. The one thing I know is that I’m a braver and much more enriched woman for my love of this dog and breed.

Leave a Reply

