To Boldly Go…


I saw the new Star Trek movie this weekend with my brother.  I knew it couldn’t be worse than the debacle of Star Trek Generations (not Next Generations the series).  At least the special effects would be worthwhile. 

Yes, I had my skeptic hat on. 

All I can say is WOW!!!!!!!!!  I will endeavor to not give any spoilers, because that is just wrong.  But I have to say that they stayed true to the essesence of the characters we knew and loved, while raising the bar and giving them greater depth and range.  The characters were not restrained by the constraints of broadcast television guidlines of the 1960’s. 

The story was tight and energetic.  Even if you didn’t like the plot devices, all loose ends were wrapped up and given direction.  Yes, I do believe we are in for a re-boot of the original series.  And they will be able to do it successfully without the constraints of the past mythologies. 

The actors who played our beloved characters, made them believable. I want to see more of them.  To be honest, I didn’t see enough of Sulu, Chechov, Uhura, or Scotty.  I just got a taste of what they could be and I want more! 

At the core of the story is still raw human emotion and dilemmas.  Just as Gene Rodenberry would have demanded it.  Because in the end that was what Star Trek was and is all about, to boldly face our humanity in the most dire of circumstances.  Because, in the end we would rise above our base selves and become more than we ever realized.

I look forward to boldly going in this new direction.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Science Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

