History or Environment?


The argument is constant, is it nature or nurture when it comes to how a dog will act in a home or on the street.  As most know who read my blog, I firmly believe that dogs are amazing creatures that can rise above terrible beginnings to be wonderful pets when shown respect, discipline and love.   Of course the same can be said for people too.

Brent from the KC DOG BLOG summed the entire argument up very eloquently, in his April 29, 2009 post entitled “How Important Is Breed History Really“.  This is a must read post, please take the time to read it.

When we read about a dog attack in the media, so often we hear it was done by a pit bull or a pit bull mix.  The media and the uneducated need a bogeyman to place all their fears on.  Heaven forbid that the people who actually own the dogs who are acting out be forced to take responsibility for lack of training, lack of proper shelter and care, and just ineptitude in pet ownership.  So it will be the dog who will always suffer.

When I was a kid I remember it was the Dobermans and Rottweilers that always had a bad reputation, yet I know them to be amazing pets.

We have proof that dogs seized from drug busts, fighting rings, and cruelty cases can successfully live in homes as fantastic pets with children, other dogs and animals.  Through careful temperment evaluation of the animals at the time of seizure these animals are given a second chance at life.  Does this mean every dog can be saved?  No, our world is not perfect.  But those that are saved can live life as the pets they were meant to be.   And those who can’t be saved,  are treated with dignity and respect in their last moments.

The history of the breed has very little to do with any dog infront of you.  It is the history of treatment that will tell its tale.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Animal, Animal Cruelty, Dogs, Opinion, Pit Bulls, Responsibility and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to History or Environment?

  1. Kat says:

    Thank you!
    I remember when I first got my English Springer Spaniel and someone told me – I would never own one of those again – they have a RAGE gene and will turn on you! Excuse me? It is not a RAGE gene. Epilepsy is the word and it is rare. There is a daily medication that helps.

    I think a quote from one of my co-workers is appropriate “people will only educate themselves as much as they want to be.”

    Thanks Leila – you rock!

  2. inaradog says:

    I highly recommend everybody read “The Pit Bull Placebo” if you haven’t done so yet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

