Puppy Memories


When Quizz was a puppy, he was a bit rambunctious. He had all this puppy energy and could barely figure out how to do anything with out it getting in the way. We lived on a small farm. Which would have been great except at that point his recall was nil.

quizz-young1

You see Quizz was and is very nose driven. As a puppy, he saw the world through his nose. So, letting him off leash meant that I would chase him through the fields and the woods saying things that I would have to repent for later.

My neighbors had a koi pond. They didn’t mind Quizz’s puppy antics. They thought it would be good for their beagle to have some company, so in the evening I’d go over and chat. Quizz and their beagle would do their dog thing.

koi

Until one evening Quizz noticed the pond, he leaned over and saw the flashes of orange and gold under the surface and started growling and barking at the water.  His hackles were raised and he was really alarmed by the stuff in the water.  The fish were annoyed by the big white thing causing all the commotion above them.  The neighbors and I were watching this completely amused. 

From the depths, this big white koi rose up.  It had survived several winters.  I have to say it was a magnificent fish and obviously ruled the pond.  The fish freak Quizz , his barking became frenzied.  Without a care in the world, the fish positioned himself close to the edge of the pond, with a mighty flick of his tail he drenched Quizz before he sank back down to the cool depths of his kingdom.

With a dripping face, Quizz was silent.  To this day, he doesn’t trust bodies of water.  You never know what might be lurking in the depths.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Animal, Dogs, Family, Pit Bulls, Remembrance, Silly and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Puppy Memories

  1. inaradog says:

    That totally made me laugh! Too bad there’s no video! LOL

  2. Tank says:

    Quizz,

    I fink yu shuld trys the water again….yu shuld come and visits me and we kuld jump and plays in the water….we’ll get thems fishies!!!

    Tank

  3. Dozer says:

    Quizz you got the rite idea. Never trust them pools of water! They will drowned you!

    Yer pal Dozer

Leave a Reply

