Lost Dog – FOUND!


UPDATE:  4/21/09  This sweet girl was reunited with her family last night.  I’ve been driving the County Animal Shelter nuts looking for updates.  To all my friends who helped me send out emails and prayers that her family would find her way back to her.  

This morning Quizz and I were taking our normal early morning walk and we saw a dog running around our neighborhood personless.  I thought, “Well, I’d better see who this is and get them home.” 

This little girl was a doll. Cute, Vivacious, Friendly and desperate to get into a house, any house.  She was going up to every house she came to and scratching at the door.   That told me she was lost.  The house I thought she belonged to I heard their dog behind their front door. So I felt that ringing their doorbell at 7am on a Sunday wasn’t going to win me any points.

She had no idea where home was.  I got close to her and she play bowed to Quizz and he accepted.  While they were going through their greeting ritual, I saw that her ID tags were gone, twisted off.  I could only hope that she was micro-chipped.  

So I convinced her to come home with me and put her in my fenced back yard.  I think being in a confined area was a comfort to her.  Quizz was stellar in his hosting duties, they were friends right away and had a good time playing.  I got her a bowl of food and she wolfed it down.  I don’t think she’d eaten for awhile.  

I had a decision to make.  You see I share  a house with my mother and out of respect to her we are a one dog household.  I get it.  I had extended our walk to try and see if anyone was looking for this sweet girl and no one was out this morning.  So I had to call our Animal Control for the County.

Now, our ACO’s are good guys.  I know that the first thing they do is look for micro-chips.  I couldn’t leave her roaming the neighborhood, she was running out  in front of cars.  If no one claims her I’m confident that she’ll be adopted.

But I’m worried.  You see, I was speaking to a woman at Church who had seen the same dog running around loose on Friday. This sweet girl had been loose since Friday!  No wonder she was hungry for food and attention.  She’s obviously a pet, she’s well mannered and well groomed. I just want to know where her family is?  Why aren’t they looking for her?

I can only hope and pray that her family finds her.  At least I know she’s off the street and in a safe environment.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Animal, Compassion, Dogs, Empowerment, Kindness, Responsibility and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lost Dog – FOUND!

  1. Tank says:

    oh, i’m so gladd that hers fownd her home!

    tank

    • Leila says:

      I spoke with Keeley’s (that’s the sweet girl’s name) this afternoon. She’s safe and sound. We’re planning a play date, so she and Quizz can run around our back yard. Nothing more fun than watching dogs run crazy.
      Leila

Leave a Reply

