Hope


After my father died, I saw a saying that said “Cold as a banished hope.” It was hung on my mother’s monitor. I can’t tell you how much that phrase disturbed me.  We had both suffered a significant loss and were devastated by it.  The difference was I was the bereft child and my mother was the desolate lover.

In the years since my father’s passing, many things have taken place in our lives good and challenging.  But grief has colored the canvas of life, you see the process of grief is amorphous and messy.  Sometimes the weight is so heavy that all hope can seemed crushed.

For me personally, no matter how unbearable the weight of grief a small ember of hope  always survived in a corner of my heart waiting to be fanned into a merry flame.  My hope was never banished just banked, waiting for me to come around to tend to it again.

You see hope is God’s gift against the darkness of despair, grief, and worthlessness.  Hope reminds us there are always possibilities beyond our small circumstance if we reach beyond ourselves.

Hope is a warm embrace that reminds us of our Father in Heaven’s love.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Compassion, Empowerment, Remembrance, Responsibility, Self-Awareness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hope

  1. Tank says:

    What a nice post!

    Tank’s human mom 🙂

  2. A. Nony Mouse says:

    I believe it was Thomas Fuller who once said… “If it were not for hopes, the heart would break.”

    From personal experience, I know that loosing a beloved parent will endeavor to break one’s heart. But it is this element of hope that you speak of, which will forever “spring eternal in the human breast” (even if it is for period of time placed into a dormant phase).

    Never give up, never surrender!!

Leave a Reply

