So I have a Crush


I admit that I follow American Idol.  But just to be clear, I really don’t start watching until the second Hollywood week.  You see, I have perfect pitch and all the auditions drive me insane.  The judges deserve to be paid combat pay for what they listen to every season prior to Hollywood. 

All this being said, I’ve had my eye on Adam Lambert.  This man is a superb vocalist with an amazing sense of theater that has yet to disappoint me.  I loved his Johnny Cash rendition of ‘Ring of Fire’.  

It was brave, unique and truly honored the song.  I loved the middle eastern flavor of the arrangement.  Not many people could have pulled it off. He performed it without apology, confident in his work.

But last night.  Well last night, was beyond description.

Click here for the performance.

If he doesn’t win American Idol, I’m done with the show.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Music, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So I have a Crush

  1. M-Town says:

    Why should he win? He’s copying other artists. What he is doing on stage isn’t original. He is the definition of smoke and mirrors. if he wins you guys who are cheerin for him will be greatly disappointed when he has to write his own songs.

    • Leila says:

      The funny thing is that all the competitors are copying other artists. He is the one that makes is seem fresh and new. Also he has one of the best voices in the competition.

      As always, we are all entitled to our own opinions.

  2. A. Nony Mouse says:

    Have to confess that I usually just watch the auditions – ‘cuz they are so unbelievable. Do some of these people honestly think they can sing? Have they ever heard a recording of themselves? Obviously not.

    But that being said… on to your posting. I liked this rendition of Ring of Fire – it was a unique and updated spin on an old classic country western song.

    It would have been nice to listen to the second song posted on this blog – but I was not able to. Something about rights violation and the song being pulled. Perhaps sometime in the future I will be able to listen to it? And maybe next week I will make an effort to actually watch American Idol and not flip the channel to something else.

Leave a Reply

