Etiquette of Blogging


A year and a half ago, I started blogging as a mere curiosity.  A phase.  Given my short attention span, I never thought I would still be at it. 

 

You see, I’m a private person.  Okay you can laugh, yes I blog.  But I setup strict guidelines for myself about what I would show to the public.  Any opinion, vent or silliness I posted would be something I would say to someone directly.  My blog would not be something I would hide behind in order wage guerrilla warfare against anyone and everyone.  Instead, it would be a representation of me.

 

I had friends that with blogs, and some of the stuff they put out there has freaked me out.  I saw sides of them that illuminated them in ways that wasn’t necessarily in their favor.  Surfing around the blogosphere, I found blogs that inspired and blogs that made me wince.  Blogs that chronicled lives, the lives of their children and anything else that came to their mind.

 

An unfortunate stigma of invulnerability and anonymity exists out in cyberspace.  That nothing can come back and haunt you.  But that is not true.  What happens in cyberspace stays out there forever. Photos you post, statements you make, written compliments and attacks you launch. 

 

A blog should never be a blind from which you hunt unsuspecting prey. 

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Empowerment, Opinion, Personal, Responsibility, Self-Awareness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

