Facing My Opinion


j04332072Okay, so I recently succumbed to an invitation to join Facebook.  I’ve been avoiding it.  Not because I’m a hermit, though I do have hermit like tendencies at times, because frankly it’s really overwhelming. 

 

People I haven’t heard from in years have popped back in my life.  This is not necessarily a bad thing, but within 24 hours people I knew from church as a teenager were looking to say ‘hi’.  By the end of the first 24 hour period I had 30 friend invites from people I couldn’t remember how I knew them.  That makes me feel guilty. 

 

THEN Facebook tries to connect me with people that I don’t know based on the people that I knew.  ACK! 

 

While it has been fun to see people, I’m finding that Facebook is a time sink.  I could spend hours looking for people, leaving messages for people, wondering why people weren’t responding to me.  I don’t have time.  I’m only on Facebook as a way to touchbase not to have full blown relationships.

 

Relationships are more than bits and bytes.  I do require more than a blurb about a child throwing up or how someone is tired or where they are going to eat to have a relationship. 

 

On top of that I find that people don’t really have inner censors about what they say about others in cyberspace.  What happens in cyberspace never goes away.  I value my privacy and my professional standing.  You’ll never see things that will jeopardize either.

 

What it boils down to, is that I’m willing to say ‘hi’ but if you want more than that, send me a private message and we’ll talk.  I don’t air my life for the public to see.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Friendship, Personal, Responsibility, Self-Awareness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Facing My Opinion

  1. Kat says:

    It’s funny how people complain that their lives are put out in the open – yet they are the ones who opened them up! I laugh at facebook daily and wonder why I even feel the need to tell EVERYONE the BF is doing laundry. Who cares? Apparently – someone! HA HA HA Thanks for the funny on FB!

    • Leila says:

      I know. I’m still figuring out the whole facebook thing. I think it’s funny the oddball things my sister posts about her kids. 🙂

Leave a Reply

