What a Week


 

Somewhere around 2pm, my brain dribbled out of my ears and on to my desk at work.  That, is the kind of week I’ve had. 

But wait! It’s not over.  I am getting up on Saturday at 4am to drive down to Jackson, TN to help one of my best friend’s in the world work through the arrangements of her mother’s passing and wake.  Twenty-five years of laughter, tears, silliness and what-the-heck-were-you-thinking deserves the support, the road has gone both ways.  We are there for each other and will always be there. 

Work has beaten me to a pulp, my poor dog is going to go without his morning walk for five days and will be really confused as my mother points him out the back door with the command ‘go do your business’, he’ll mark the nearest tree and come back ready for his walk.  Alas no walk.

I’m trying to keep my eyes open.   

The upside to all this is the 12-hour drive.  I know that some people cringe at the time alone with themselves, but I get a lot of self introspection and self-therapy.  And I get to sing at the top of my lungs to any song I like.

I just have to scoop up my brains, reinstall them in my brain and gear myself up for the next several days.

Sigh.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Family, Friendship, Silly, Stress and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

