A Dog’s Courage – Updated


This is Louis before the trial (courtesy of the MHS)

This is Louis before the trial (courtesy of the MHS)

Back in September I wrote and entry about a dog from the Montgomery Humane Society in Alabama titled A Dog’s Courage (9/26/08) .  Well, I’d like to report that the perpetrator of this heinous crime plead guilty on January 12, 2009 to animal cruelty charges and was sentenced on January 30th to 9 years and 6 months jail time.   This is a HUGE win.  

I spoke with the Montgomery Humane Society and asked for an update on Louis, they were kind enough to fill me in on what had been happening in his life.  After heroic care and treatment through the Montgomery Humane Society and their affliates, Louis was fostered in a family situation while the case was winding its way through the judicial system.  On the afternoon of January 30, 2009 after the sentencing, the foster family signed the adoption papers on this special boy.

From the beginning to this, all I can say is WOW! And Thank you!

The good guys seldom get the thanks and the praise they deserve, so here it goes. BIG KUDOS to the foster family, the Montgomer Humane Society. veternarians and staff that worked so hard, and EVERYONE who had a hand in Louis’s rescue and recovery.   Thank you to the men and women of the judicial system and saw justice served.

I continue to believe that dogs are one of the most amazing creatures here on this planet due to their capacity to forgive.  If this dog can still find love and trust in his heart after being beaten by a shovel, set on fire in an attempt to kill him by someone he was suppose to trust. What gems are being destroyed through ignorance and fear?

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Animal Cruelty, Dogs, Pit Bulls, Responsibility and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

