Un-American? I don’t think so!


According to Tom Hanks, I am un-American because I am a practicing Mormon and there are “a lot of Mormons gave a lot of money to the church to make Prop-8 happen”.  That’s right Tom, paint us all with the same brush. 

 

 

I don’t live in California.  I really didn’t care about Prop-8 and, frankly, find that politics based on somebody’s sexual preference offensive. 

 

According to the 1st Amendment of the Constitution of the United States of America, I am with in my rights as an American citizen to voice, support and express my religious ideals.  According to the tenets of my religion, I am to look at every issue that comes before me and make up my own mind based on my own research and the doctrines of my faith.  When I am told that I am un-American for being a person of faith, it rankles me. 

 

I have friends of all colors, creeds, religions and preferences.  I respect them all.  I expect respect from them in return.   But to have a self-important blow-hard make statements about a group that he really has no understanding about, declaring them un-American, I find that un-American.  The man is grand-standing because it is the ‘in’ thing to do to persecute people who stand by their personal beliefs. 

 

Just fifty years ago, we had a senator chasing shadows and ruining lives under the auspice of being an American.  Actors, Scientists, Writers, Philosophers were all called to the carpet and pilloried because they had a different idea, a different point of view and were declared un-American. 

 

Tom, you’d better be careful who you label, it has a way of coming back to haunt you.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Christianity, LDS, Mormon, Patriotism, Responsibility and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Un-American? I don’t think so!

  1. Kat says:

    My bestest friends in the whole wide world are Mormon. Un-American? No way! Where will you find friends that move your apartment in a moments notice? that put a veil of safety over you and it works? that will hold your hand in the bad times and relish with you in the good times? that is the most unselfish? MORMONS! Mr. Hanks, when you find yourself down and out, I dare you to reach out for help ….

Leave a Reply

