Responsibility!


 Driving home from church last Sunday, I was behind a Lexus SUV that had a bumper sticker that caught my interest.  It was a URL for a pit bull site.  Now, I’m all about finding a good rescue pit bull organization, there can never be too many of those.  To my dismay, it was for a breeder who was charging $1500 for each puppy.  They could ‘guarantee’ the good disposition of each dog and that the dogs would make good family pets.

My heart sank.  With all the pit bulls in shelters and rescue organizations, we still have breeders out there selling puppies.  Touting bloodlines and genetic purity.  For all I know these people might be responsible breeders, but my point is THERE ARE PIT BULLS DYING OUT THERE OF NEGLECT, OVER-POPULATION, AND VIOLENCE. 

Due to irresponsible media coverage, pit bulls are the current boogeyman of the dog world.  That image is changing thanks to the tireless work of responsible pit bull owners and rescue groups.  These men and women help organize rescues of hundreds of pit bulls that are facing death due to neglect, dog fighting rings, and pure stupidity.  The heart wrenching part is that they all can’t be saved, but at least the word is out that the pit bull is an amazing dog who is worthy of our attention and devotion.  They go on to become ambassadors to their breed, loving family pets and amazing assets to our lives and communities. 

With all the homeless pit bulls of all ages out there that desperately need homes, I can’t imagine why anyone could so callus as to want to profit off the sale of pit bull puppies.  

 

 

 

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Animal, Animal Cruelty, Dogs, Pit Bulls, Responsibility. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Responsibility!

  1. Dozer says:

    Well I have never bited sumone but in this case I might makes an eksepshun. Oh Mummy is growling louder than me about this. Mebbe I would let her do the biting.

    Yer pal Dozer

  2. Leila says:

    Well Dozer, I was saying exceptionally bad things on a Sunday! So, I might have bit someone too!
    Leila

Leave a Reply

