More Angel Wings in the OK


ok-dog1

One of the OK dogs (courtesy of Bad Rap)

Well, as I pointed out in an earlier post, Earning Our Wings, angels come in all forms.  After proper evaluation, coordinated through the Oklahoma Alliance for Animals, the dogs that were judged to be able to recover from their ordeal were given to organizations that could rehabilitate them.  Bad Rap, an San Francisco base organization, sent two people out to help with the evaluation and was able to take some of the dogs with them.  The rest of the dogs were given their last days filled with kindness and dignity.

Kindness and dignity.  That is so little to ask for any creature, yet for some humans so hard to deliver to animals or to their fellow humans.  The photos of the dogs and the conditions that someone deemed acceptable are hard to swallow, but oh so necessary to see.  Because with in the pictures, we see hope.  Hope in the eyes of the dogs.  We see dogs starving for affection.  They have already moved on from the past and are focused on those who are helping them. 

I won’t pontificate on human nature or any perceived short-comings.  I only ask that during this holiday season and the year to come, that we each work on opening our hearts to those around us. If we see a need, we act on it.  If we feel a prompting to serve our fellow beings, we serve. 

Bring joy to our world and it will be paid back in full.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Animal, Animal Cruelty, Charity, Dogs, Pit Bulls, Responsibility and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

