Worlds of Imagination


j0433135So this is how big of a geek I am.  I grew up watching re-runs of Star Trek and wishing that I could ‘go where no man has gone before’.  My imagination was sparked by the voyages of an intrepid crew in a vast galaxy, threaded together by the strength of a Federation that helped various species live together in relative peace.

Star Trek started my love affair with science fiction.  At nine years old I was reading Heinlein, Niven, Bova, le Guin, Butler, and that rascal Harry Harrison.  They all talked about the human condition but in settings that challenged us to see beyond our circumstances. 

In the world of science fiction, you could talk about race relations, genocide, environmental responsibility, governmental missteps, scientific responsibility and let your imagination be free.  Exploration of the psyche, emotions, human condition is the name of the game.  No restrictions buy my own limitations.  I saw my own imagination grow, I saw my own ability to reason expand. 

I tell you all this because the world has lost a gem today.  Majel Barrett-Roddenberry passed away today of leukemia.  She was wife to Gene Roddenberry, creator of the Star Trek franchise and a mother.  But she was also a pioneering spirit.  She had no fear of the creation of her husband and was right there in the fray with him.  She carried on after his death in 1991. 

Whether it is an actor, writer or visionary, it is hard when women are lost to us who help us see beyond ourselves and into the great universe.  Majel Roddenberry was one of those women. 

Majel we’ll miss you! May your adventures just be starting.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Imagination, Inner-Child, Personal, Science Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

