An Unexpected Visitor


     I’m sitting on my couch with my devoted pal Quizz.  When, we hear a couple of bangs and thuds.  No one is in the house but us and the cat.  Usually the cat is, well, cat-like, stealthy and quiet, only visiting us when he wants company.  To add to the oddness, the cat starts his chirping call.  The one he makes when he is on the hunt outside and sees his favorite quarry, the squirrel.

Charlie the Hunter

Charlie the Hunter

 Intrigued, I get up and investigate.  I don’t have to go far, there sits the cat.  Tail swishing frenetically back and forth while focused intently on the space between the toilet and the vanity.  The only thing between his quarry and himself was two trash cans.  Charlie, that’s the cat, senses my approach and imperiously meows at me.

 Translation “Stupid Human, how could you have these items between me and what I want?  Remove them immediately!”

I being the ever so obedient cat minion says, “Okay.” And I move the trash cans, not expecting to find more than an annoying silverfish.  Mind you those are gross and icky enough and must be destroyed.    

The Intruder

The Intruder

 

Instead, I find a RODENT!!! I scream.  It darts Left! It darts Right! IT DARTS BETWEEN MY LEGS WITH AN OVER EXCITED CAT AFTER IT!

At that point the dog realizes that something is up and decides to join the fray.  He comes just in time to see the rodent, which my brain has since identified as a squirrel.  Always up for a game of chase, Quizz chases it into the sewing area. 

  This is not good, too many places to hide, too many places to never be found. But never fear!  Quizz has it cornered.   The cat is upset that his game has been interrupted. I’m trying to figure out how to capture the squirrel without blood being shed by anyone!

Now to be fair, the gradient size goes like this.  Human – really large (a lady never reveals her weight!). Dog – 60 lbs. Cat – 17 lbs. Squirrel – 6 oz. tops.   I can see where the squirrel would be a bit freaked out. 

I finally got the squirrel corralled in a trash can. Called a Wildlife Rehabilitator and found out it was not a juvenile squirrel but an adult flying squirrel that had come to visit.  Some how, I’m thinking that the squirrel is regretting its decision to the bottom of its curious soul.  As flying squirrels are nocturnal, all I had to do was release it in the backyard.  Boy did it run. 

The dog had to go out and try to find it, he never did. The cat keeps hanging around where he originally found the squirrel hoping that another one will magically appear.  Because one hasn’t, he’s getting a little annoyed and annoying.  He wants a squirrel!

Many mysteries remain.  No human, dog, cat or squirrel was harmed in the performing of this adventure.

About Leila

I hail from the East and view the world as my playground. I'm opinionated. My dog is my co-pilot, but my cat navigates better. I'm only limited by my imagination. While there are terrible things that happen in the world I am responsible for making good things happen where I live, and that affects the world at large making it a better place.
This entry was posted in Animal, Cats, Dogs, Family, Silly and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Unexpected Visitor

  1. Dozer says:

    Omigosh that sounds like it wuz so much fun!! I have never seen a skwirrel in the house before except my toy skwirrel.

    • Leila says:

      Mom wouldn’t let me or Charlie keep the squirrel. It was soooo fast! The chase was the best part.

      I think Charlie was sadder than me when it stopped. I’ll have to get Charlie a squirrel for Christmas. You wouldn’t know where I could get a squirrel?

      Quizz

  2. Dozer says:

    Mummy bringed me my toy skwirrel frum the pet store. It is funs cause it skweeks but not funs cause it is too fuzzy and not very stuffed. Ask yer Mummy to gets you one at the pet store.

    Now as fer live skwirrels I dont know where them thangs come from. I have seened one in our yard once but it runned up a tree and then it wuz gone. Rusty mite know more bout skwirrels cause he has a skwirrel patrol.

Leave a Reply

